Cardiothoracic Anesthesia Faculty

Dalia Banks, MD
Associate Clinical Professor
Director of Cardiothoracic Anesthesia
MD - Cairo University
Anes - Yale University
Fellowship - Cardiothoracic, Harvard University
Specialty - Cardiothoracic Anesthesia
dabanks@ucsd.edu 

Brett Cronin, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor
Department of Anesthesiology
University of California, San Diego
bcronin@ucsd.edu

Joel A. Kaplan, MD
Clinical Professor, NS
MD - Jefferson Medical College
Anes - Univ of Pennsylvania
Fellowship - Cardiovascular Physiology & Pharmacology,
Cardiac Anesthesia, Univ of Pennsylvania
Speciality - Cardiac Anesthesia
jkaplan@ucsd.edu

Swapnil Khoche, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor
Department of Anesthesiology
University of California, San Diego
skhoche@ucsd.edu

Daniel Lee, MD, PhD
Associate Clinical Professor,
Anesthesia and Pediatrics
MD/PhD - Univ of Texas, Southwestern Med Ctr at Dallas
Pediatrics Res - UCSD
Anesthesia Res - UCSD
Fellowship - Paediatric Anesthesia & Intensive Care
Great Ormond St Hospital, London
Specialty - Cardiothoracic & Pediatric Anesthesia, Critical Care
d8lee@ucsd.edu

Gerard R. Manecke, MD
Clinical Professor
Department Chair
MD - SUNY at Stony Brook
Anesthesia - SUNY at Stony Brook
Specialty -Cardiac Anesthesia
gmanecke@ucsd.edu

Timothy M. Maus, MD
Associate Clinical Professor
Director of Perioperative Echocardiography
MD - University of Missouri Columbia
Anesthesia - University of California San Diego
Fellowship - University of California San Diego
Specialty - Perioperative Echocardiography, Transesophageal Echocardiography, Cardiac Anesthesia
tmaus@ucsd.edu

Liem Nguyen, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor
MD -
Anesthesia - Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, MA
Fellowship - University of California San Diego
Specialty - Perioperative Echocardiography, Transesophageal Echocardiography, Cardiac Anesthesia
liem@ucsd.edu

Mark M. Mitchell, MD
Clinical Professor
Chief,  San Diego VA Hosp
MD - UCSD
Anesthesia - Mass. General Hospital
Properties of esophageal doppler systems in characterizing cardiovascular function
mmitchell@ucsd.edu

David M. Roth, MD, PhD
Professor
MD - UCSD
PhD - Jefferson Medical College
Anes - UCSD
Fellowship - Research, UCSD
droth@ucsd.edu

Ramon Sanchez, MD
Associate Clinical Professor
MD -  UCSD
Anes - UCSD
Anesthesia for solid organ trans-plantation (liver, kidney, pancreas)
rsanchez@ucsd.edu