Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content


Welcome to the UC San Diego Department of Anesthesiology. You will see that we emphasize postgraduate education in  anesthesiology and opportunities to develop clinical and research skills in all aspects of  anesthesiology and pain medicine.

Gerard Manecke M.D., Chairman.

Dr. Benumof (right)
Winner of the 2010 IARS Career Teaching Award

Mission Statement

Our mission is to advance the art and science of anesthesiology, and to train its next generation of clinicians and scientists.

Quick Links